Author Topic: Nigerians no longer eligible to apply for 2015 US Visa Lottery  (Read 616 times)


  • Vanguard
  • Posts: 11776
  • 11157 Naira
For DV 2015 natives of the following countries are not eligible to apply, because more than 50,000 natives of these countries immigrated to the United States in the previous five years:

Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador,El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, mexico,Nigeria,Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea,United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

Persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible.


  • Administrator
  • Posts: 975
  • 1386 Naira
Re: Nigerians no longer eligible to apply for 2015 US Visa Lottery
« Reply #1 on: Oct 06, 2013, 10:52 AM »
Read more detailed information below:

Nigeria and some other countries will no longer be eligible to participate in the America Diversity Visa lottery programme.

Information from the United States Department of State sighted on Sunday said Nigerians and citizens from few other countries were not eligible for DV-2015

The department said Nigeria was excluded since over 50,000 Nigerians had immigrated into the United States in the last five years.

The department listed other countries not eligible as Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador and Haiti.

Others are India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam

However, many African countries would continue to enjoy the programme.

Some of them are Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cote D’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia and Ghana.

Others are Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles and Sierra Leone.

Diversity visas are said to be distributed among six geographic regions, while no single country could receive more than seven per cent of the available space in any year.

Already, advertsiements for the 2015 US DV lottery have started with several businesses inviting Nigerians to apply for the program.

Applications for the 2015 US DV lottery is expected to take off from October 1, 2013.

In 2012, 14,769, 658 persons were said to have qualified worldwide for the US DV lottery among the 19, 672, 269 which applied.

Source: The Punch


Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
Last post Nov 23, 2009, 11:49 PM
by MyInfoStride
0 Replies
Last post Apr 06, 2010, 11:00 AM
by NewsCaster
2 Replies
Last post Oct 19, 2010, 10:41 PM
by MyInfoStride
1 Replies
Last post Oct 03, 2012, 11:59 AM
by emezico
0 Replies
Last post Mar 01, 2013, 02:30 PM
by BBC