Home West African News Nigeria News FG Is Set To Construct 44 Highways, Repair 63 Nigerian Roads –...

FG Is Set To Construct 44 Highways, Repair 63 Nigerian Roads – Fashola


The Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, has revealed the plans of the Federal Government’s plans for the construction of 44 federal highways in the 2017 Budget.

This was disclosed in a press release by the Special Adviser on Communications to the Minister, Hakeem Bello, on Saturday, July 29, 2017.

In the statement, after an inspection tour of roads in 34 states of the Federation by the Ministry, 63 roads have also been penned down for emergency intervention.

The Minister also mentioned that the road projects are broken down in such a way that no zone has been ommitted.

For the purpose of effective implementation, the Federal Government has classified the roads into Critical Economic Routes and Agricultural routes to include all roads traversing geopolitical zones, advancing trade and commerce across the states and leading to the ports as well as those passing through agricultural areas across the country.

The Minister went on to list the proposed priority highway projects slated in the 2017 Budget, including: Kano-Katsina Road (Phase 1: Kano Town at Dawanau Roundabout to Katsina State Border), Sokoto-Tambuwal-Jega-Yauri Road, Ilorin-Jebba-Mokwa-Bokani Road, Ilorin-Kabba-Obajana Road (Sections 1 & 11), Ibadan-Ilorin Road, Section11 (Oyo-Ogbomosho), Lagos-Shagamu-Ibadan Dual Carriageway, Sections 1&11 and Lagos-Otta Road.

Also included are: Apapa/Tincan Port, NNPC Depot (Atlas Cove) to Mile 2 Accessed Road, Apapa-Oshodi Road, Third Mainland Bridge, Apapa/Tincan Island Port – NNPC Depot Access Road, Benin-Ofosu-Ore Ajebandele-Shagamu Road, Obajana Junction-Benin Road Phase 2: (Sections i-iv), Sapele-Ewu Road Sections 1 & 11, Second Niger Bridge, Onitsha-Enugu Expressway (Amansea-Enugu State Border), Yenegoa Road Junction-Kolo-Otueke-Bayelsa Palm and Bodo-Bonny Road with Bridge.

Others are: Odukpani-Itu-(Spur Ididep-Itam)-Ikot Ekpene Federal Highway Sections 1 & 11, Ikom Bridge, Enugu-Port Harcourt Dual Carriageway Sections i-iv, Calabar-Ugep-Katsina Ala Road, Vandeikya-Obudu-Obudu Cattle Ranch Road, Oshegbudu-Oweto Road, Oju/Loko-Oweto Bridge with approach roads, Nassarawa-Loko Road, Abuja-Lokoja Road Sections I & IV, Suleja-Minna Road Section 11, Kaduna Eastern Bypass, Kano-Maiduguri Road Section I – IV, Hadejia-Nguru-Gashua-Bayamari Road and Kano Western Bypass.

According to the release, those listed as critical economic routes include Zaria-Kano Road, Abuja-Lokoja Road (Sections I-IV), Ilorin-Jebba-Bokani Road, Ibadan-Ilorin Road (Sections 1 & 11), Lagos-Shagamu-Ibadan Road (Sections 1 & 11), Benin-Ofosu-Ore-Ajebandele-Shagamu Road and Obajana-Benin Road (Sections I-IV).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here