Author Topic: Covenant University gets 2 New Deputy Vice-Chancellors  (Read 1122 times)


  • Commando
  • *****
  • Posts: 1592
  • Rating: +0/-0
The Board of Regents, Covenant University’s apex governing body, has ratified the appointment of Professor Charles Korede Ayo,as the third substantive Vice-Chancellor of theUniversity.
Also, the University for the first time appointed two Deputy Vice-Chancellors in thepersons of Dr. Taiwo Olubunmi Abioye and Dr. Aaron Aderemi Atayero as the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Administration and Academics respectively.
The appointment was made public at the Chancellor’s Dinner organized to celebrate the10th Founder’s Day Anniversary of the University.
Professor Ayo is taking over from Professor Aize Obayan who was the second substantiveVice-Chancellor between February 1, 2005 and October 31, 2012.
In a brief hand-over ceremony at the Vice-Chancellor’s office on Monday, October 29, 2012, Professor Obayan noted that the engine room of Covenant University is the Vision and advised the new Vice-Chancellor to always have the Vision at heart in order to run with it.
The outgoing Vice-Chancellor whose tenure attracted over 68 awards, numerous linkageswith world class institutions, among other uncommon feats recorded by the University, appreciated everyone who had worked to make her tenure a resounding success.
Professor C. K. Ayo in his response described the outgoing Vice-Chancellor as an epitome of simplicity with finesse for excellence. He said her personality has demystified university administration and has triumphed where many men have failed. This, according to him, has proved that success is not by gender.
Dr. Taiwo Olubunmi Abioye, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration)
Professor Ayo joined the University in September 2003 as a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Computer and Information Science.
A Senior Fulbright Scholar, he has served in various capacities including Director, Academic Planning Unit, Chair, Quality and Academic Standards Committee (2008-Date), Chair, Convocation Planning Committee 2007, 2009 and 2010, amongst others. Until his appointment, Professor Ayo was the Head of Department, Computer and Information Sciences.
The new Vice-Chancellor is a member of many professional bodies including the Nigerian Computer Society (MNCS), Computer Professionals (Registration Council) of Nigeria(MCPN), Microsoft Certified Professionals (MCP)and Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA). His research interests include e-Government, e-Business and mobile computing amongst others.
Professor C.K Ayo has produced nine (9) PhDs; 25 M.Sc candidates, over 85 MBA candidates, over 55 PgD candidates and over 160 B.Sc candidates.
Dr. Taiwo Abioye joined Covenant University in October 2005 and served in various capacities. She is the Secretary, Executive Board of ISA-RC25: Language and Society. Sheis also a member of the editorial board of Language, Discourse and Society.
Dr. Aaron Atayero, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics)
She is a member of several Professional bodies including International Reading Association (IRA), International Sociological Association (ISA-RC25), and Nigeria English Studies Association (NESA).
An Associate Professor of English Language, she was the Acting Head, Department of Languages before her appointment as the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Administration. She was the Chairperson, Convocation Planning Committee in 2008.
Dr. Aaron Atayero is one of the Pioneer Staff of the University. He joined the University as aLecturer II in 2002, in the Department of Electrical and Information Engineering.
A recipient of Ford Foundation Teaching Innovative Award, 2009/2010 for Demonstrative Innovative Approach to Teaching, Research and Mentoring of Junior Academics, Dr Atayero was at different times Acting Head, Department of Electrical and Information Engineering, Covenant Universityand a Lead Researcher, EIE Biometrics Research Cluster.
He is a member of many Professional bodies including Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE), International Association of Engineers (IAENG), World Academy of Science Engineering and Technology; and International Who’s Who Historical Society.
Share this information with friends...

The InfoStride Forum