2011 Postgraduate Merit Scholarships at University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Started by sparrow, Mar 05, 2011, 01:27 PM


University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa has announced Postgraduate Merit Awards for students registered for full-time honours. University Postgraduate Merit Awards will be awarded on the basis of academic merit. Students who register for postgraduate diplomas, BEd, LLB degrees or GDE are not eligible for the Awards.

Please note that the normal maximum tenure of a postgraduate merit award is:
a) Doctors (Post-Masters) – 3 years
b) Doctors (Post-Honours) – 4 years
c) Masters – 2 years
d) Honours – 1year

A postgraduate merit awardee/bursar is obliged to work for a minimum of six and a maximum of nine hours per week in the University Department. There is a minimum academic requirement for a University Postgraduate Merit Award and applicants should follow the rules.

Application Deadline: 30 April 2011 for July/September enrolment.

Read more: University of the Witwatersrand Postgraduate Merit Awards Application Form.


You can equally download these documents for further information about the scholarships and admission at University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa:

- 2011 Postgraduate Financial Assistance & Scholarships: Booklet Download (PDF)
- 2011 Postgraduate Admission Form (PDF)

Note: For some types of funding you need to have secured a postgraduate place at the university before you can be considered for financial support.