Author Topic: MMMF Grant for Women of Developing Countries, 2014 South Africa  (Read 413 times)


  • Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 1386
  • Rating: +0/-0
Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund is offering grant for women of developing countries in South Africa. Applicant must be women and enrolled at the University of Pretoria, the University of Cape Town, the University of Stellenbosch or the University of Witwatersrand. After the completion of the program applicants must return to their home countries. Applicants must be in financial need and must have good academic performance.  MMMF awards grants of approximately US$4,000 each. The deadline for applications is August 14, 2013.

Study Subject(s): The grant is provided to learn any of the courses offered by the Universities in South Africa.

Course Level: The grant is available for students who are currently studying at the University of Pretoria, the University of Cape Town, the University of Stellenbosch and the University of Witwatersrand in South Africa.

Scholarship Provider: The Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund.

Scholarship can be taken at: South Africa

Eligibility: A woman is eligible to apply for an MMMF grant if she meets all the following criteria:

1.Has a record of service to women and a commitment to improve the lives of women and/or children in her country or other developing country.

2. Is enrolled at the University of Pretoria, the University of Cape Town, the University of Stellenbosch or the University of Witwatersrand when applying and remains enrolled during the entire year covered by the grant.

3. Resides in South Africa at the time she submits the application and during the course of the academic year in which the grant applies (except for dissertation research elsewhere, to be so indicated on application).

4.Will use the grant toward completion of her degree.

5. Will be able to use the grant money which is to be paid into her student’s account at the enrolled university.

6. Is a national of a lower or middle income developing member country, as designated by the MMMF (Country Eligibility List).

7. Intends to return to her country or another developing country within about two years of completing use of the MMMF grant and perform at least two years of service.

8. Demonstrates financial need and satisfactory academic performance.

9. Is at least 25 years old by the application deadline.

10. Is not related to any World Bank Group staff member or his/her spouse.

Scholarship Open for Students of Following Countries: Women applicants of developing countries((Afghanistan, Gambia, Mozambique, Bangladesh, The Guinea, Myanmar, Benin, Guinea-Bisau, Nepal, Burkina Faso, Haiti, Niger, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Cambodia, Korea, Dem Rep., Sierra Leone, Central African Republic, Kyrgyz Republic, Somalia, Liberia, Tajikistan, Comoros, Madagascar, Tanzania, Malawi, Togo, Congo, Dem. Rep, Eritrea, Mali, Uganda, Ethiopia, Mauritania, Zimbabwe, Albania, Indonesia, Samoa, Armenia, India, São Tomé and Principe, Belize, Iraq, Senegal, Bhutan, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Bolivia, Kosovo, South Sudan, Cameroon, Lao PDR, Sri Lanka, Cape Verde, Lesotho, Sudan, Congo, Rep., Marshall Islands, Swaziland, Côte d’Ivoire, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Syrian Arab Republic, Djibouti, Moldova, Timor-Leste, Egypt, Arab Rep., Mongolia, Tonga, El Salvador, Morocco, Ukraine, Fiji, Nicaragua, Uzbekistan, Georgia, Nigeria, Vanuatu, Ghana, Pakistan, Vietnam, Guatemala, Papua New Guinea, West Bank and Gaza, Guyana, Paraguay, Yemen, Rep., Honduras, Philippines, Zambia, Angola, Ecuador, Palau, Algeria, Gabon, Panama, American Samoa, Grenada, Peru, Antigua and Barbuda, Iran, Islamic Rep., Romania, Argentina, Jamaica, Russian Federation, Azerbaijan, Jordan, Serbia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Seychelles, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Latvia, South Africa, Botswana, Lebanon, St. Lucia, Brazil, Libya, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Bulgaria, Lithuania, Suriname, Chile, Macedonia, FYR, Thailand, China, Malaysia, Tunisia, Colombia, Maldives, Turkey, Costa Rica, Mauritius, Turkmenistan, Cuba, Mexico, Tuvalu, Dominica, Montenegro and Uruguay) can apply for this grant.

Scholarship Description: For students from developing countries who are currently studying in South Africa at the University of Pretoria, the University of Cape Town, the University of Stellenbosch and the University of Witwatersrand.

Number of award(s): Not Known

Duration of award(s): Not Known

What does it cover? MMMF awards grants of approximately US$4,000 each.

Selection Criteria: Not Known

Notification: Selected recipients for the Africa educational grants 2014 will be notified by December 2014 at the earliest.

How to Apply: The mode of applying is online.

Scholarship Application Deadline: The deadline for applications is August 14, 2013.

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application

The InfoStride Forum