Author Topic: 2014 TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme for Developing Countries in India  (Read 678 times)


  • Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 1386
  • Rating: +0/-0
TWAS and Department of Biotechnology(DBT) of the Ministry of Science and Technology offers Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme for developing countries other than India in the field of biotechnology. TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowships are tenable at key biotechnology research institutions in India for a minimum period of 12 months to a maximum period of 18 months. The application deadline is 31st August of each year.

Study Subject(s): Fellowships are provided in the field of biotechnology.

Course Level: Fellowships are available for pursuing postdoctoral research program.

Scholarship Provider: TWAS and Department of Biotechnology (DBT) of the Ministry of Science and Technology

Scholarship can be taken at: India

Eligibility: Applicants for these fellowships must meet the following criteria:

-Be a maximum age of 45 years on 31 December of the application year.

-Be nationals of a developing country (other than India).

-must not hold any visa for temporary or permanent residency in India or any developed country.

-Hold a PhD degree in bioscience or biotechnology.

-Be regularly employed in a developing country and hold a research assignment there.

-Be accepted at a biotechnology institution in India (see sample Acceptance Letter included in the application form).

-Provide evidence of proficiency in English.

Scholarship Open for International Students: The students of developing countries (other than India) (Afghanistan, Gambia, Mozambique, Bangladesh, The Guinea, Myanmar, Benin, Guinea-Bisau, Nepal, Burkina Faso, Haiti, Niger, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Cambodia, Korea, Dem Rep., Sierra Leone, Central African Republic, Kyrgyz Republic, Somalia, Liberia, Tajikistan, Comoros, Madagascar, Tanzania, Malawi, Togo, Congo, Dem. Rep, Eritrea, Mali, Uganda, Ethiopia, Mauritania, Zimbabwe, Albania, Indonesia, Samoa, Armenia, India, São Tomé and Principe, Belize, Iraq, Senegal, Bhutan, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Bolivia, Kosovo, South Sudan, Cameroon, Lao PDR, Sri Lanka, Cape Verde, Lesotho, Sudan, Congo, Rep., Marshall Islands, Swaziland, Côte d’Ivoire, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Syrian Arab Republic, Djibouti, Moldova, Timor-Leste, Egypt, Arab Rep., Mongolia, Tonga, El Salvador, Morocco, Ukraine, Fiji, Nicaragua, Uzbekistan, Georgia, Nigeria, Vanuatu, Ghana, Pakistan, Vietnam, Guatemala, Papua New Guinea, West Bank and Gaza, Guyana, Paraguay, Yemen, Rep., Honduras, Philippines, Zambia, Angola, Ecuador, Palau, Algeria, Gabon, Panama, American Samoa, Grenada, Peru, Antigua and Barbuda, Iran, Islamic Rep., Romania, Argentina, Jamaica, Russian Federation, Azerbaijan, Jordan, Serbia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Seychelles, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Latvia, South Africa, Botswana, Lebanon, St. Lucia, Brazil, Libya, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Bulgaria, Lithuania, Suriname, Chile, Macedonia, FYR, Thailand, China, Malaysia, Tunisia, Colombia, Maldives, Turkey, Costa Rica, Mauritius, Turkmenistan, Cuba, Mexico, Tuvalu, Dominica, Montenegro and Uruguay) can apply for these scholarships.

Scholarship Description: For young scientists from developing countries (other than India) who wish to pursue postdoctoral research in biotechnology at key biotechnology research institutions in India through the Department of Biotechnology (DBT) of the Ministry of Science and Technology, India. Deadline: 31 August. Each year, the TWAS Fellowship Programmes, which operate under agreements with governments and national organizations in developing countries, offer a number of fellowships to young scientists from developing countries to carry out postdoctoral research in developing countries other than their own. Women scientists are especially encouraged to apply.

Number of award(s): Not Known

Duration of award(s): TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowships are tenable at key biotechnology research institutions in India for a minimum period of 12 months to a maximum period of 18 months.

What does it cover? -TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowships are tenable at key biotechnology research institutions in India for a minimum period of 12 months to a maximum period of 18 months.

-To help candidates in their choice of a suitable host institution a list of biotechnology institutes in India is available here: List_Biotechn_India.pdf. However, candidates are free to choose an Indian biotechnology institution that does not appear on the list.

-DBT will provide a monthly stipend to cover for living costs, food and health insurance. The monthly stipend will not be convertible into foreign currency. In addition, the fellowship holder will receive a house rent allowance.

-The language of instruction is English.

Selection criteria: Not Known

Notification: Applications will be acknowledged once they have been processed. Successful candidates will be notified by February of the year following the application.

How to Apply: -Applicants should submit the Acceptance Letter from an Indian biotechnology institution to TWAS when applying or by the deadline at the latest. Applicants will have until the deadline to submit the Acceptance Letter to TWAS. Without preliminary acceptance, the application will not be considered for selection.

-Reference letters: Referees must send signed letters as attachments via e-mail directly to TWAS. The subject line must contain: DBT/PDoc/ candidate’s surname. Alternatively, letters should be sent by post in sealed envelopes.

-Applications for the TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme should be sent to TWAS and CICS (by post, fax or email).

Scholarship Application Deadline: The application deadline is 31st August of each year.

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application

The InfoStride Forum