Author Topic: Lagos state house of Assembly: Ikuforiji re-elected speaker  (Read 3369 times)


[float=left][/float] Speaker of the sixth Lagos State House of Assembly, Honourable Adeyemi Ikuforiji, was anonymously re-elected as the speaker of the 7th Lagos State House of Assembly.

The state governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, had earlier yesterday inaugurated the Assembly.

Fashola told members of the newly inaugurated assembly to quickly settle down to make laws that would fasttrack development in the state, just as he urged them not to be far from their constituency .

”The simple role of the legislator is to make laws. However, in making laws, legislators often do more than this. Apart from the fact that they are elected to represent certain geographical areas and constituents which make them a link between government and the people, they actually enable society develop and prosper by the quality of laws that they make,’’ governor Fashola said.

Addressing the gathering after his emergence, Hon. Ikuforiji sought the cooperation of his colleagues so that the House would perform up to expectation. He also reiterated the commitment of the House to serve as check and balance on the judiciary and the executive, emphasizing that the House would collaborate with other arms of government to ensure that dividend of democracy is taken to the doorstep of Lagosians.

The motion nominating Ikuforiji for the speakership position was moved by Hon. Rasak Balogun (Surulere II) and seconded by Hon. Alawiye King (Lagos Island II). Hon. Kolawole Taiwo emerged the Deputy Speaker after the motion for his adoption was moved by Hon. Lanre Oshun (Lagos MainlandI I) and seconded by Oladayo Fafunmi(Ifako Ijaye I).

Other principal officers were also announced unopposed by the speaker. They are Dr. Ajibayo Adeye who becomes the majority leader, Hon. Rasaq Balogun as Chief Whip, Hon. Lola Akande Deputy Majority Leader and Hon. Rotimi Abiru as deputy whip.

The occasion was witnessed by chieftains of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) in the state including the party chairman, Chief Oladele Ajomale, Cardinal James Odumbaku, Chief Lanre Rasaq , Chief Wale Mogaji, Chief Olorunfunmi Basorun and Dr Joe Igbokwe , the publicity secretary of the party in the state.

Source: Sunday Tribune