Automatic Link Review Or: How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love Realtime Driving Feedback

Started by TechCrunch, Oct 19, 2013, 01:31 PM

TechCrunch

I have something to get off my chest: I live in New Jersey, so by definition that makes me a "Jersey driver". I've never thought of myself as the sort of manically aggressive road warrior that befits the stereotype (and I'd argue that Pennsylvania drivers are way worse), but Y Combinator-backed Automatic's Link dongle begs to differ. It's been plugged into my car for the better part of two weeks now, dutifully tracking all my hard stops, all my hasty starts at green lights, and all the times I've perhaps pushed the car a bit too hard.

And the verdict is in: I'm exactly what I thought I wasn't. I'm a stereotypical New Jersey driver. As the old adage goes, the first step to recovering is admitting you have a problem, and Automatic's neat little dongle + app combo has helped me to realize just that.

The Rundown But let's back up a moment — how does this all work? Since 1996, every car that's been sold in the United States has what's called an OBD-II port nestled in it somewhere. Odds are good you don't even know what it looks like (it's a little trapezoidal thing with 16 pins) or where it is. It's there so mechanics and car dealers can troubleshoot automotive issues by connecting a computer to the thing, and the Automatic team has whipped up a consumer device that pops in there to monitor your car's speed, fuel injection rate, and more.

There are a few extra bits in there that make the Link dongle more than your average diagnostics tool. The accelerometer means that it can detect sudden stops and starts, and there's a tiny speaker built into the that audibly alerts you in those moments.