Author Topic: Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme 2010  (Read 1264 times)


  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5555
  • Rating: +10/-0
Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme 2010
« on: May 12, 2010, 11:42 PM »
The Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (with funding from DFID), and UK universities, to support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.

Information for Prospective Scholars for 2010

How does the Scheme work?

Awards are for taught postgraduate courses only. All courses undertaken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social or technological development of the candidate's home country.

Awards are only available at participating institutions in the UK. The booklet giving details of the UK institutions offering Scholarships joint-funded with the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in 2010 is available for download here or can be obtained in print copy from the Scheme Administrators: Booklet for 2010 Shared Scholarship Scheme (PDF)

Please note that participating universities are required to support the student stipend for the award holder (at the rate set by the UK Government). The Commission funds the cost of tuition fees (at overseas rate), return airfares and other allowances. It is envisaged that around 170 Scholarships will be offered in 2010.

Who is eligible?

Applicants should:
a. be nationals of (or permanently domiciled in) a Commonwealth developing country, and not currently be living or studying in a developed country (please see the booklet for a list of eligible countries)
b. hold a first degree at either first or upper second class level;
c . be sufficiently fluent in English to pursue the course
d. have not previously studied for one year or more in a developed country
e. not be employed by a government department (at national level) or a parastatal organisation (employees of universities are normally acceptable, however)
f. be able to confirm in writing that neither they or their families would otherwise be able to pay for the proposed course of study
g. be willing to confirm that they will return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete

Target Nationalities:

Nationals of Commonwealth Developing Countries (Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda Nauru, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana,  British Virgin Islands, Namibia, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana,  India,  Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati,  Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia,  Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guineas, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena,  St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa,  Sri Lanka,  Swaziland, Tanzania,Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Western Samoa, and Zambia)

How can I apply?

All enquiries should be addressed to the University at which you wish to study and through which you should therefore apply for a Scholarship.  They will advise you on how to make an application direct to them.  Most universities will handle advertising and recruitment directly using their own application form and applications should therefore be addressed to the participating university direct (option 1). A few universities want all candidates for their Shared Scholarship courses to apply via the Commission's Electronic Application System (EAS) (option 2).  You will be advised by the institution if this is the case and should then access the EAS through the link above.

Following an option 1 university's closing date, the university will ask the candidates it selects to complete the CSC application form. Candidates should note that institutions are asked to forward their nominations to the CSC no later than 31 May 2010; where institutions have not specified a closing date candidates should contact the institution so as to ascertain the latest date that the institution is willing to accept applications.

Where can I get further information?

Although applications for specific courses should be addressed to the individual university concerned, general inquiries regarding the scheme should be sent to the scheme administrators at the address below. Please note that applications sent to this office will be disregarded and will not be passed on to the institutions.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission
c/o Association of Commonwealth Universities
Woburn House, 20-24 Tavistock Square
London WC1H 9HF
Telephone : 44 (0) 207 380 6700
Fax : 44 (0) 207 387 2655
E-Mail :

For more info: Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme 2010

The InfoStride Forum

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme 2010
« on: May 12, 2010, 11:42 PM »