Home West African News Nigeria News Gov. Yari Heads APC’s 18-Man Extraordinary Convention Committee

Gov. Yari Heads APC’s 18-Man Extraordinary Convention Committee

APC-Logo1The All Progressives Congress on Thursday in Abuja inaugurated an 18-man committee for its mini convention scheduled to take place in Abuja on Oct. 29.

The National Chairman of the APC, Chief John oyegun, who inaugurated the committee, urged members to work to achieve the mandate of ensuring a hitch-free convention.

The Chairman of the committee, Gov. Abdulaziz Abubakar of Zamfara, who responded on behalf of the committee, assured that the expectation of the party on the convention would be achieved.

Abubakar said, “The mandate given to me as far as the committee is concerned is to ensure that we have a successful convention.

“This convention is to ratify some sections of our constitution.

“As party men and women, we are ready to work round the clock to ensure that this convention is successful”.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that Chief Timi Silva, a former Bayelsa Governor, will serve as the secretary of the committee.

The party’s National Vice Chairmen in the six geopolitical zones of the country are members of the committee.

Others are former Governor of Gombe State, Danjuma Goje; Sen.  Robert Boroface, Aisha Ibrahim, Alhaji Bala Borodo, Temi Harriman, Dr Anyim Nyerere and Alhaji Lai Mohammed, the party’s National Publicity Secretary.

Sen. Osita Izunaso, APC’s National Publicity Secretary; Alhaji Mai Buni, the National Secretary and Dikko Radda, the Welfare Secretary are also members.

About 2,000 delegates, three from each of the 774 local government areas of the country are expected to participate in the mini convention, which will be observed by the Independent National Electoral Commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here