Home Sports No Barcelona Player In Latest UEFA Starting Eleven

No Barcelona Player In Latest UEFA Starting Eleven

Lionel MessiUEFA.com has announced its Champions League XI for the 2015-16 group stage, with no representatives from European champions Barcelona.

Bayern Munich and Paris Saint-Germain have the most representatives with two apiece, with Thomas Muller and David Alaba making the cut for the German champions and Kevin Trapp and Thiago Silva included from the French side.

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo, who was the leading scorer in the group stage with 11 goals and also contributed three assists, is included alongside Muller (five goals, two assists) and Hulk, whose three goals and four assists helped Zenit St Petersburg top Group H.

There is no place for Barca forwards Luis Suarez (five goals, two assists), Lionel Messi (three goals, one assist) or Neymar (two goals, four assists), while Bayern’s Robert Lewandowski (seven goals, no assists), Zenit’s Artem Dzyuba (six goals, two assists) and Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud (five goals, no assists) also miss out.

In midfield, Willian (five goals, one assist) is included after playing a key role for Chelsea as they took top spot in Group G, while Raheem Sterling (three goals, one assist) makes the cut after Manchester City edged out Juventus to finish first in Group D.

Sven Kums (one goal, two assists) is also recognised for his contribution to Gent’s successful start in the competition as they finished ahead of Valencia to take second place in Group H.

PSG keeper Trapp and centre-back Thiago Silva make the XI after Laurent Blanc’s men conceded just one goal in the group stage, while Alaba, Juventus’ Andrea Brazagli and Atletico Madrid’s Diego Godin are selected after their sides conceded three apiece.

READ  Henderson Is The Main Force Behind Liverpool's Impressive Run - Robertson

GK: Kevin Trapp (PSG)
DF: Andrea Barzagli (Juventus)
DF: Thiago Silva (PSG)
DF: Diego Godín (Atletico)
DF: David Alaba (Bayern)
MF: Sven Kums (Gent)
MF: Willian (Chelsea)
MF: Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
FW: Thomas Muller (Bayern)
FW: Hulk (Zenit)
FW: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here