Home West African News Nigeria News Akwa Ibom State Assembly Confirms 18 Nominees As Commissioners

Akwa Ibom State Assembly Confirms 18 Nominees As Commissioners

nnpcimagesThe Akwa Ibom House of Assembly on Wednesday confirmed 18 Commissioner nominees and two Special Advisers as requested by Gov. Udom Emmanuel.

The confirmation of the nominees followed their screening by the Committee of the Whole.
The House Leader Mr Udo Akpan moved a motion for their confirmation and Mr Aniekan Bassey (PDP-Uruan) seconded the motion.

The new commissioners were Mr Paul Udofia, Mr Ime Ekpo, Dr Nse Essien, Prof. Eno Ikpe, Mr Idoroenyin Udo and Mr Nsikan Nkan.

The others are Mr Uduak Udoinyang, Mr Charles Udo, Mr Orman Esin, Dr Iniobong Essien, Dr Dominic Ukpong, Mr Uwemidimo Nwoko and Mr Victor Antai.

The rest are Mr Monday Uko, Dr Glory Edet, Mr Udoh Ekpenyong, Mr Akan Okon as well as Mr Ephraim Inyang.

The new Special Advisers are Mr Ekong Sampson and Mrs Ekemini Umoh.

The Speaker of the House, Mr Onofiok Luke, said that the nominees during the screening exhibited high level of intelligence and responsibility.

Luke therefore urged the commissioners-designate to help the governor in his endeavour to build a strong sttate.

He noted that the times demanded some sacrifice from all the new commissioners.

The Speaker also urged them to work with the permanent secretaries for effective service delivery to the people.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Emmanuel dissolved the former state executive council on October 15.

The governor forwarded the list of 18 nominees and two special advisers on November 25, made up of nine old executive members and 11 new ones to the assembly for confirmation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here