Home Politics ONDO DECIDES 2020: Live Updates, Results And Situation Reports

ONDO DECIDES 2020: Live Updates, Results And Situation Reports

Ondo Election TheInfoStride Live Update
Ondo Election TheInfoStride Live Update


As electorates in Ondo State decide today on the next governor of the state, the restriction order has being ignored.

In Akure, the Ondo State capital, aside the vehicles deployed for election duty, taxis, private vehicles as well as commercial motorcycles, popularly known as ‘Okada’ were seen moving freely within the state.

Recall that the Inspector General of Police, General Muhammed Adamu earlier ordered the restriction of vehicular movement from 12 am to 6 pm on Saturday within the state.

TheInfoStride gathered that from Oba-Ile axis of Akure North Local Government to the popular Oba-Adesida part of Akure South Local Government the order is being overlooked.

Meanwhile, within the Akure metropolis, as at press time, there is no much presence of security operatives trooping the roads.

Electorates in Ondo State will today, Saturday, October 10, 2020, go to polling centres across the 18 local government areas in the state to elect the governor for the next tenure.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, had in August published the names of 17 governorship candidates and their running mates with their political parties for today’s poll.

However, political observers believe that the Governorship battle is obviously between incumbent Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu of the All Progressives Congress, APC; candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Eyitayo Jegede, and Agboola Ajayi, candidate of the Zenith Labour Party, ZLP.

Mr. Ajayi, a former member of the ruling APC and incumbent Deputy Governor, is striving for the state’s number one position with his boss, Governor Akeredolu.

There have been reports of violence and killings with continued clashes between supporters of the APC and PDP, being the two leading political parties ahead of today’s election.


Accreditation and voting have commenced in most polling units in Akure South Local Government as the Ondo governorship election gets underway, the New Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.
Our correspondent, who went round some of the polling units in the area, observed that voting started around 7.30 a.m. in many polling units.

READ  ONDO DECIDES: Soldiers Troop In, State Under Tension

At polling unit 013, near NEPA office by Adekunle Ajasin Road, accreditation and voting commenced at 8.30 a.m.

Voting also commenced at 8:35 a.m. at polling unit 14, Water corporation, Adekunke Ajasin road, by NEPA Area.

Voting was also going on peacefully at polling unit 015 at Vertinary Clinic, as well as at the Pension Commission, both located at Adejule Ajasin road.

NAN reports that as at 7.25 a.m, INEC ad hoc staff and election materials had arrived at polling unit 001, Ago Ireti, Lisa, near the Adult, Technical and Vocational Education Skills Acquisition Centre, along Oba-lle Road, Akure South.

Governor Akeredolu’s Wife Injured As Security Details Storm Owo Polling Unit 

The wife of the Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, Betty has reportedly been injured in the Owo area of the State.

Channels Television reports that the incident happened when security details of the Governor arrived a polling unit in the area.

According to the report, three people were killed.

Recall that sporadic shootings were earlier reported at Pollíng Unit 11, Edo Lodge in Oke Ijebu, Akure.

The State Police spokesman, Tee-Lee Ikoro had confirmed the incident.

Sporadic Shooting In Polling Unit

As voting begins in the ongoing governorship election in Ondo State, sporadic shootings have been reported in a polling unit.

The incident occurred at Pollíng Unit 11, Edo Lodge in Oke Ijebu, Akure.

Sporadic Shooting In Akure Polling Unit
Sporadic Shooting In Akure Polling Unit

Confirming the shooting, the State Police spokesman, Tee-Lee Ikoro said operatives have been deployed to the affected area.

Ikoro disclosed that Mobile Police operatives were deployed to ensure the protection of voters at the scene.

READ  Ondo Election: Those Promising Reduction In Tuition Fees Are Liars — Akeredolu


Mahin Ward 4, unit 013, Ilaje local government area

APC – 143
PDP – 29
ZLP – 58

Polling unit 3, ward 6, Okitipupa LGA.

APC – 119
PDP – 55
ZLP – 37

PU 013, Ward 03, Ajue, Odigbo LGA.

APC – 81
PDP – 141
ZLP – 40

Results are currently trickling in from various Polling Units in the Ondo State governorship election.

INEC officials have concluded the voting exercise while ballot counting has commenced in the presence of the voters.

The election was keenly contested between the incumbent Governor and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Chief Rotimi Akeredolu, SAN, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Eyitayo Jegede and Agboola Ajayi of the Zenith Labour Party, ZLP.

Mahin ward 3, Unit 002 Ilaje LGA

APC 127

PDP 21

Odopetu ward 7 Unit 024.

Unit 023

PDP: 132

APC: 45

Unit 024

PDP: 142

APC: 58


Ode-Mahin of Ilaje I

Unit 005 Mahin Zion (Mahin Ward 1)

APC 125

PDP 39

ZLP 19



PU 10, Ward 10, Ipoba I&II, Open Space at Ipoba I, Owena/Apoumulona

APC: 141

PDP: 70

Ijare PU 10, Ward 1, in Ifedore LGA

APC 36

PDP 49


Akure South

Akure PU 10, Ward 2

APC 43

PDP 158


Ugbonla Ward 2, Unit 006, Ilaje LGA

APC 91

PDP 26

ZLP 15

PDP Candidate, Tayo Jegede’s Polling Unit

APC: 60

PDP: 220

Ward 2, PU1, Irele LGA

APC 123

PDP 66

ZLP 96

PU11, Ward 1, Ugbo, Ilaje LGA.

APC – 298

PDP – 4

ZLP – 2

ZLP Candidate, Ajayi Agboola’s Polling Unit

APC: 13

PDP: 05

ZLP: 395

You can bookmark this page in order to follow this thread for updates of results and incidents from different polling units in the state. [Updated Every 1hr]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here