Home Uncategorized Kenya Travel Advice Update

Kenya Travel Advice Update


LONDON, United-Kingdom, July 12, 2014/African Press Organization (APO)/ — The FCO has changed its travel advice to Kenya to advise against all but essential travel to Lamu County and those areas of Tana River County north of the Tana River itself. The travel advice for Mombasa remains the same.

Our travel advice for other parts of the country, beyond the coast, has not changed and the vast majority of the country falls outside our advice against all but essential travel.

Full travel advice to Kenya can be found on the FCO website.

The Travel Advice now reads:

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) advise against all but essential travel to

• areas within 60km of the Kenya-Somali border

• Kiwayu and coastal areas north of Pate Island

• Garissa District

• the Eastleigh area of Nairobi

• low income areas of Nairobi, including all township or slum areas

Mombasa island and within 5km of the coast from Mtwapa creek in the north down to and including Tiwi in the south (this area does not include Diani or Moi international airport)

Lamu County and those areas of Tana River County north of the Tana river itself.

If you are currently in an area to which we now advise against all but essential travel you should consider whether you have an essential reason to remain. If not, you should leave the area.

The UK has a responsibility to inform British citizens of the potential threats aimed at both Kenya and the international community. Our travel advice reflects solely our objective assessment of the security position. It is kept under constant review.

READ  Twitter,others Drops as Parler gets Dark Version

To counter the shared threat of terrorism, the UK is committed to working with the Kenyan authorities to strengthen their capacity to investigate, prosecute and detain terrorists; in line with international human rights standards.