Home West African News Nigeria News The Current Administration Has Not Improved Nigeria – Atiku

The Current Administration Has Not Improved Nigeria – Atiku


Alhaji Atiku AbubakarAtiku Abubakar has challenged Nigerians on the kind of questions to ask before they turn up to vote in the 2019 general elections.

Atiku, a former vice president, is the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), the main opposition party, contesting the presidency against President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at next year’s polls.

The 72-year-old took to his Twitter account (@atiku) on Friday, November 9, 2018, to challenge Nigerians to question themselves on if the current administration has improved the nation for the better during Buhari’s tenure. The PDP cnadidate urged Nigerians to focus on getting the country to work again.

He posted, “The most important question in this election is ‘Are you better off today than you were 4 years ago?’ Are we richer of poorer? This is why our primary focus is on getting Nigeria working again.”

Atiku was pivotal to Buhari’s electoral victory in 2015 after he dumped the PDP for the APC before losing the party’s ticket to the current president. However, he dumped the APC to return to the PDP in 2017 after accusing the ruling party of mismanaging the nation’s democracy.

While next year’s election, scheduled for February 16, 2019, is expected to be keenly-contested between President Buhari and Atiku, they both face competition from other candidates including Donald Duke of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Kingsley Moghalu of the Young Progressive Party (YPP), Obiageli Ezekwesili of the Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), Fela Durotoye of the Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN), and Omoyele Sowore of the African Action Congress (AAC).

READ  Atiku Might Be Our 2023 Presidential Candidate - PDP

Others are Tope Fasua of the Abundance Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP), Eunice Atuejide of the National Interest Party (NIP), Olusegun Mimiko of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Adesina Fagbenro-Byron of the Kowa Party (KP), Chike Ukaegbu of the Advanced Allied Party (AAP), Hamza Al-Mustapha of the People’s Party of Nigeria (PPN), Obadiah Mailafia of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), and many more.